SkwalZone

Setting up the Thias Panther as alpine

Talk about anything you want, but try to keep appropriate topics.

Moderator: WebTeam

Setting up the Thias Panther as alpine

Postby teddo » 09 Mar 2009 20:35

Failing to get proper use of my Thias Panther 178 I tried to actually mount a pair of F2 Titanium step-ins on it with angles something like 65-70. It rode amazingly well! I think I have to make some moderations or find a slimmer binding though, because I found it to boot out slightly on the heelside going on the really steep and low (the little rubber ring sticked out a tiny bit).

I was really impressed though since I remembered the Panther to carve rather poorly on the hardpack compared to my Völkl and Thias 183F, it actually held an excellent edge on the hardpack using stiffer bindings and "low" angles. :mrgreen:
User avatar
teddo
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 May 2003 15:26

Re: Setting up the Thias Panther as alpine

Postby Guilhem » 09 Mar 2009 21:06

I've tried mounting F2 Intec plates on my Panther, although the "usual" way, they stick out way too much. I've yet to find an affordable, narrow intec binding for this board, so I went back to regular Thias ones.
Skwal - Plongee - VTT :D
User avatar
Guilhem
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 19 Nov 2007 13:36
Location: Pres d'Antibes, France

Re: Setting up the Thias Panther as alpine

Postby teddo » 10 Mar 2009 09:46

It looks like it's only the outer rubber piece that sticks out, and maybe that could be carved off. There is only about 5mm or so.
Image
User avatar
teddo
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 May 2003 15:26

Re: Setting up the Thias Panther as alpine

Postby Guilhem » 11 Mar 2009 01:48

teddo wrote:There is only about 5mm or so.


Only ? Maybe you have different fix than I have. I had tried to set up my Panther with F2 Race Titanium Intec, they were sticking out someting like 1.5 cm each side, which was way too much. What exact bindung model are you using ? Can you take a closer picture ? Thanks a lot.
Skwal - Plongee - VTT :D
User avatar
Guilhem
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 19 Nov 2007 13:36
Location: Pres d'Antibes, France

Re: Setting up the Thias Panther as alpine

Postby teddo » 11 Mar 2009 14:36

Image
Image
The black part sticking out is only rubber, so it might be able to cut?
User avatar
teddo
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 16 May 2003 15:26

Re: Setting up the Thias Panther as alpine

Postby Guilhem » 13 Mar 2009 10:53

Not too bad ! When I had tried mine they were sticking out much more. However I notice you have quite a bit of angle on the front foot, that may explain it. I'll try again and will snap some pictures.
Skwal - Plongee - VTT :D
User avatar
Guilhem
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 19 Nov 2007 13:36
Location: Pres d'Antibes, France


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

Copyright© 2002-2003 skwalzone.org   -   nommam2000@yahoo.fr